The Little Bed & Breakfast by the Sea by Jennifer Joyce

#BookBlogger 📚📚  My Thanks once again must go to @HQDigitalUK & @Writer_Jenn for allowing me a sneaky peak of The Little Bed & Breakfast by the Sea. 

What a joy this book was. This is an easy summer read which will have you smiling and laughing more than once. The romance isn’t sloppy either, I hate sloppiness. I found myself associating with a couple of things mentioned which made this book even more enjoyable to me.

I loved the characters and the setting, the writer got everything right, yet again. This is a wonderful read, ideal for weekend retreats. It’s not a heavy read and will keep you entertained throughout.

I rate this book 5/5

Description

A cosy and charming romance set in an English seaside town, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Caroline Roberts.

Escape to the seaside this summer!

Mae loves running her little Bed & Breakfast, it’s the perfect place to raise her adorable four-year-old daughter! And no matter how persistently local vet, Alfie, chases her, she just doesn’t have time for men in her life.

Willow is busy building her dream home with her husband, Ethan, but with every month that passes she secretly worries that her happy ever after will never come true…

Melody only intended to stay in the bustling seaside town for a few days to capture the perfect photo. But when she meets Hugo – the charming man in the ice cream van – she decides to stay a little longer!

One thing is for sure, summer at the little Bed & Breakfast by the sea certainly has a few surprises in store…


Publication Date is 28th June 2017

Pre Order https://www.amazon.co.uk/Little-Bed-Breakfast-Sea-ebook/dp/B0727YW7DZ/ref=la_B00I3HFRFA_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1497011539&sr=1-1

http://www.jenniferjoycewrites.co.uk/


Ragdoll by Daniel Cole

Thank you @orionbooks @NetGalley & of course the man himself @Daniel_P_Cole for giving me the opportunity to #review #Ragdoll.

This is going to be the most wanted crime thriller of 2017. It has it all. It is amusing in parts,in a dark kind of way.  It has great characters, there is blood and guts, a fabulous storyline which had me on the edge of my seat and boy oh boy there are more twists and turns than a fairground waltzer.  

If you love a good crime thriller then 2017 is the year for #Ragdoll

I rate this book 5/5

Publication Date is 23rd February 2017

Description

The nation is gripped by the infamous ‘Ragdoll Killer’
Every news bulletin and headline is obsessed with this story.
Your friends, your family and your neighbours are all talking about it.

Believe the hype. Sold in over 32 countries and counting, RAGDOLL is the standout thriller of the year.

A body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together like a puppet, nicknamed by the press as the ‘ragdoll’.

Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.

The ‘Ragdoll Killer’ taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them.

With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?


Available Editions

EDITION
ISBN
PRICE

Unbreakable: 50 Goals in 39 Games, Wayne Gretzky and the Story of Hockey’s Greatest Record by Todd Denault & Mike Brophy

When the lovely Canadian Publishers @RandomHouseCA gave me the opportunity to review #Unbreakable a story of #IceHockey, I was over the moon @ToddDenault & @HockeyBroph had put together this book.

Description

Its a really interesting read for all ice hockey fans, young and old. There are some great stories too of players names you are guaranteed to recognise. If you love Ice Hockey this book is for you.

I rate this book 5/5

Purchase at Amazon.com

Purchase at Amazon UK

Si-Renity by Si Robertson

Thank You to  @UncleSi_Elf @NetGalley and his publisher for allowing me to review this book

This was a very religious book, not really my cup of tea if I’m honest, so much so I actually gave up reading it. For some it might be of interest but it wasn’t for me.

Description

We’ll Always Have Paris by Sue Watson

image

Many Thanks to @LittleBrownUK for contacting me to review
@suewatsonwriter #summerreading.
I have read and adored all of Sues books and this one most certainly did not disappoint.
It was a warm, comfortable read which any age group can enjoy. It made me think, in parts, of my late mum and how she must have felt when my dad past away.
This book tugged on my heartstrings too having met up with my first true love a year ago after just over thirty years. Has Sue been following us?!
Great book, fabulous summer read, I adored it so much

I give this book 10/10

Does first love deserve a second chance?

When she was almost seventeen, Rosie Draper locked eyes with a charismatic student called Peter during their first week at art college, changing the course of her life forever. Now, on the cusp of sixty-five and recently widowed, Rosie is slowly coming to terms with a new future. And after a chance encounter with Peter, forty-seven years later, they both begin to wonder ‘what if’ . . .

Told with warmth, wit and humour, We’ll Always Have Paris is a charming, moving and uplifting novel about two people; the choices they make, the lives they lead and the love they share.

The Last Days of Summer plus Guest Post by Author – Sophie Pembroke

image

This book  by  @Sophie_Pembroke had me intrigued as soon as I turned the first page, it was one of those stories where one really didn’t know what would happen. There was humour too, I do love humour. Actually this book had it all.
Romance, Mystery, Intrigue, Family Matters, as I said, it had it all. This book had me transfixed until the very end.
This is a compelling summer read which should be on everyone’s ” to read” list

Escape to the beautiful world of Rosewood this summer The only feel good summer read you’ll need, The Last Days of Summer is perfect for fans of Harriet Evans, Debbie Johnson and Lucy Diamond. 

Saskia has always loved Rosewood. It was her family home, her sanctuary and her memories of it are vividly alive even after two years of being absent. Never did she think she would be standing in the rose garden afraid to cross the threshold and own up to the past she had run away from.

So much about Rosewood hasn’t changed, everyone still dresses for dinner, sips cocktails on the terrace, her father cooks every delicious meal and her beloved grandfather still tells spellbinding stories. But the cold reception from her grandmother, Ellie’s complete avoidance of her and the judgmental gaze of Edward, her grandfather’s new assistant (who seems to know more than enough about her past), are all new to Kia.

All Kia needs to do is attend her grandparent’s Golden Wedding Party and make it to the train station without her secret coming out. What could possible go wrong in just one weekend?

___________________________________________________________________
Today on my blog Sophie Pembroke is sharing details on all the great vintage clothes in The Last Days of Summer’ 

Dressing for Dinner

I’ve always thought you can tell something about a person by what they choose to wear – even if what you learn is just that they have no interest in clothes. We dress for ourselves, for the occasion, to impress others, to fit in or to stand out. But what we choose to put over our skin affects people’s perception of us, whether we want it to or not. A person’s appearance is the ultimate in judging a book by its cover.

In my latest novel, The Last Days of Summer, the main character, Saskia, uses this to her advantage. Unsettled and a little unwelcome back home at the family house of Rosewood, she hides behind costumes and make up, hoping that maybe her family will forget all the reasons she left two years ago and why she hasn’t been back since, if only she doesn’t look like herself.

She’s helped in this endeavor by her Great Aunt Therese, who runs a vintage clothes shop online, putting together the perfect vintage outfits for every occasion. These are particularly useful at Rosewood, where the old fashioned tradition of dressing for dinner is still observed.

During the course of the book, Therese dresses Saskia in a 1950s off the shoulder dress, complete with high ponytail for that all American look; a 1930s navy dress that Therese once wore herself, a 1920’s green silk flapper dress, and a black, Hepburnesque shift dress. Left to her own devices, Saskia ends up wearing a mix of clothes she left behind after university and inappropriate office wear, or accidentally topless on her balcony, so it’s just as well Therese is on hand, really.

The costumes Saskia put on help her to find her way through the toughest week of her life. But she can’t spend the whole of her life pretending to be someone else, can she? Playing dress up and make believe?

By the end of the book, will Saskia manage to shed her costumes and appear as herself?

You’ll have to read The Last Days of Summer to find out…

The Last Days of Summer is out now from Carina UK.
Keep up with all the latest from Rosewood at http://www.SophiePembroke.com

image