The Perfect Gift by Emma Hannigan

The wonderful people @headlinepg allowed me to review @MsEmmaHannigan upcoming book which I discovered over on @NetGalley. 
I adore Emma’s work and as a “Cancer Vixen” myself I really do get where she is coming from in her writing.


This story is wonderful, there are so many emotions and the characters really are likeable. This was a heartwarming and adorable book that I really did not want to end. 

Lots of Love to Emma 💖💖💖

I give this book 10/10


Description

This beautiful, moving novel of mothers and daughters and the secrets they share will fill hearts with love and light this summer. If you love Patricia Scanlan and Cathy Kelly’s warm novels, you will adore Emma Hannigan’sThe Perfect Gift. ‘A wonderful storyteller’ Cathy Kelly

Happy Birthday, darling girl…

Ever since she can remember, Roisin has received a birthday card in the post. Signed with love from the birth mother she has never met.

Brought up by her adoptive parents, Keeley and Doug, Roisin has wanted for nothing. But on her thirtieth birthday a letter comes that shakes her world.

For Keeley, who’s raised Roisin as her own, the letter reminds her of a secret she’s been holding for thirty years.

And for Nell, keeping watch in the lighthouse, the past is a place she rarely goes. Until a young runaway arrives seeking shelter, and unwraps the gift of hope for them all…

Advertisements

The Dress by Sophie Nicholls

​@bonnier_publish Thank You, you made my day when you allowed me to review this charming book by @wordsauce, when I looked on @NetGalley.

The story is set in York, just up the road from my home, so I immediately felt at home inside the pages. It felt so magical and I adored the characters too. The book is well written and charming. 

I adore the cover it looks so dainty.

I give this book 9/10


Description

I Found You by Lisa Jewell

image

Thanks again to @PenguinRHUKNews and @NetGalley for the privilege of reviewing this really wonderful book by such a talented writer in @lisajewelluk .
When I read that some of this book was set in East Yorkshire, I had to read it, as I live in East Yorkshire so was intrigued.
The cover made me think I should be reading this book on a cold winters night.

I loved the plot, I loved the characters and the gripping thriller that had me hooked throughout.

I rate this book 10/10
               ———————————————————————————
How long have you been sitting out here?’

‘I got here yesterday.’

‘Where did you come from?’

‘I have no idea.’

East Yorkshire: Single mum Alice Lake finds a man on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, no idea what he is doing there. Against her better judgement she invites him in to her home.

Surrey: Twenty-one-year-old Lily Drew has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Two women, twenty years of secrets and a man who can’t remember lie at the heart of Lisa Jewell’s brilliant new novel

The Weekends of You and Me by Fiona Walker

image

Special Thanks to @LittleBrownUK @fionawalkeruk & @NetGalley for allowing me to review this book.

The cover is adorable, I am a sucker for a pretty book cover and having read Fiona’s work before, knew I would enjoy this book.
It was a comfortable read but a little darker than her usual books
I rate this book 9/10

Can your final fling become your Happy Ever After?

When Jo Coulson finds herself single again in her late thirties, she finally resigns her membership to Last of the Hopeless Romantics, fully intending to tackle midlife and motherhood alone. First, she plans one legendary last fling…

In walks Harry Inchbold, and the connection is electric. Passionate, unpredictable and messily divorced, Harry is the perfect antidote to cosy coupledom. Known as The Sinner, drama follows him around with a clapper board.

Harry’s favourite holiday hideaway in the wilds of South Shropshire puts the mud and fun into the perfect dirty weekend. But at the cottage Harry reveals a very different side, melting Jo’s resolve. What better combination to face an uncertain future than two cynics who have learned from their mistakes?Together they make a pact; ‘same time next year’; they can promise no more than that.

Through life’s most stressful decade, Harry and Jo return to the Shropshire hills for one weekend each year to rediscover passion and make peace. As career, family and home crises all threaten to bring them unstuck, the cottage is their glue. Here, different rules apply: the day to day world is not allowed to intrude.With Harry and Jo, however, it’s only a matter of time before rules get broken. As real life gets increasingly complicated, can they keep renewing their promise?

Would Like To Meet by Polly James

Once again a big Thank You to @HarperCollinsUK @AvonBooksUK @Netgalley and of course @Mid_WifeCrisis for allowing me to review this fun filled book 💖💖💖.

image

This book really had me giggling, so much so, I almost felt the need to purchase some Tena Lady!!!  Polly is a great writer who has it just right. A really good read to guarantee the chuckle muscles a good work out

I give this book 10/10

A hilarious, heart-warming read perfect for fans of Shirley Valentine and You’ve Got Mail. 
Could the worst thing that’s ever happened to Hannah Pinkman also turn out to be one of the best?

She and her husband Dan have reached the end of the line. Bored with the same gripes, the same old arguments – in fact, bored with everything – they split up after a trivial row turns into something much more serious.

Now Hannah has to make a new life for herself, but that’s not easy. She’s been so busy being a wife and mum that she’s let all her other interests slip away, along with her friends. And when Hannah is persuaded to join a dating site, her ‘best match’ is the very last person she expects it to be . . .

A clever, funny and poignant novel about life after a long relationship, the importance of friendship, and rediscovering your identity.