Isolation Junction by Jennifer Gilmour

#BookBlogger 📚  I knew I had to read and #review @JenLGilmour book “Isolation Junction” as soon as I heard about it as it is a subject so close to my heart, yet something only those very close to me know exactly the true impact it has had on me. 

This truly had me in tears. It is a well written account and I really do applaud Jennifer for writing about such a “behind closed doors” subject. People do not realise that Domestic Abuse is not just Physical abuse but Mental Abuse too. Even typing out this review, I am crying. 

People need to read this book so they know the kind of torment that others are going through, yet are either too scared or just “can’t get out” of the relationship. And to know that there is light at the end of the tunnel and that help is out there.

I rate this book 5/5

                             ⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛

Jennifer recently made a television appearance too, here she is chatting about this wonderful book and all of the hard work that went into it.

Description

Rose is the mother of two young children, and finds herself living a robotic life with an abusive and controlling husband. While she struggles to maintain a calm front for the sake of her children, inside Rose is dying and trapped in ‘Isolation Junction’. 

She runs an online business from home, because Darren won’t let her work outside the house. Through this, she meets other mums and finds courage to attend networking events, while Darren is at work, to promote her business. 

It’s at one of these events that Rose meets Tim, a sympathetic, dark-haired stranger who unwittingly becomes an important part of her survival. 

After years of emotional abuse, of doubting her future and losing all self-confidence, Rose takes a stand. Finding herself distraught, alone and helpless, Rose wonders how she’ll ever escape with her sanity and her children. With 100 reasons to leave and 1,000 reasons she can’t, will she be able to do it? 

Will Tim help her? Will Rose find peace and the happiness she deserves? Can Rose break free from this spiralling life she so desperately wants to change? 

http://jennifergilmour.com/

Purchase on Amazon

Summer at Bluebell Bank by Jen Mouat

As a #BookBlogger, I’m always happy to receive a #newrelease and @HQDigitalUK once again came up trump’s with @jenmouat_author #romcom Summer at Bluebell Bank.

The book had me captivated from the start, i loved the bookshop it made me want to hunt it down. The characters were well written and the storyline and area it was written in had me wanting more. Family relationships, love and friendship this is a really great read.

I rate this book 5/5

Description

Returning home is never smooth sailing . . .

Summoned by her childhood best friend, Kate Vincent doesn’t stop to think, instead she books a one-way ticket from New York back to Wigtown, Scotland and leaves her glittering new life behind. Scenes of idyllic holidays at Bluebell Bank with the Cotton family dance in her mind, but not everything has stayed the way it once was . . . Especially when her first love, Luke, returns to town, too.

Emily Cotton never expected one email, sent off in a wine-fuelled daze, to bring her old friend barrelling through the front door of her dismally failing bookshop. But life for the Cottons isn’t how it once was, Emily’s brothers are hardly speaking, her beloved grandmother isn’t quite the same and Emily . . . well, Emily is the one most in need of Kate’s help.

Kate has given herself until the end of the summer to stay in Wigtown. Can she bring the Cottons back together, and save the family who once saved her?

Publication Date 2nd August 2017

EDITION
ISBN
PRICE

Pre Order https://www.amazon.co.uk/Summer-Bluebell-Bank-Jen-Mouat-ebook/dp/B0719L2JYL/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1498103793&sr=8-1&keywords=summer+at+bluebell+bank

Love and Laughter in the Time of Chemotherapy by Manjusha Pawagi

#BookBlogger #BookReview 📚📚 My Thanks to @_secondstory for allowing me to review this Biography.

This was a book I could associate with having had cancer and all of the treatment that goes with it. People think that a cancer ward is a sad place but this often is not the case and us patients can laugh at ourselves, our hairloss, the constant peeing when the chemotherapy drug is entering our system and in some cases ( mine anyway) a tingly feeling down below which made me giggle loudly on the ward and lots of other things in which others will think quite bizarre.

This is a personal story which is very interesting as well as some fun too. The book made me cry in parts yet in others it was uplifting. The lady is one tough cookie and this book is one that really needs to be read by everyone so they to can get a true idea of cancer treatment.

I rate this book 5/5

Description

An unexpected, wry, and funny memoir about one woman’s experience with cancer.

Manjusha Pawagi, a successful family court judge, has written a not-so-typical memoir about her experience with cancer. Wryly funny and stubbornly hopeful, this is her quirky take on what it’s like to face your own mortality when, to be honest, you thought you’d live forever. She describes how even the darkest moments of life can be made worse with roommates; details how much determination it takes to ignore the statistics; and answers the age-old question: what does it take to get a banana popsicle around here?

Publication Date is 10th October 2017


https://secondstorypress.ca/adult/love-and-laughter-in-the-time-of-chemotherapy



The Brazilian by Rosie Millard

#BookBlogger 📚📚 Thanks once again must go to @Legend_Press and of course @Rosiemillard for putting in all of the hard work in this fabulous funny summer read.


This had me laughing so much, the characters are great and had me chuckling at every turn of the page. Rosie writes really well, she knows how far to go and has obviously researched well. 

This is one of the top ten books everyone needs in their case or backpack this year, they certainly will not be disappointed. It has fun, emotion, entertainment and lots of summer sun. Grab a Pina Colada and The Brazilian and get on that sun lounger and encounter a summer read you will never forget.

Description

Following a sensational scandal at one of London’s most desired postcodes, Jane and Patrick decide to escape the gossip with a family holiday to Ibiza, their eight-year-old son George in tow.

Also on the island that week is a TV reality show involving an eccentric artist, a horny It Girl, a Brazilian footballer and a famous magician.

As hapless celebrities are picked off one by one, Jane is desperate to be on the programme, leaving childcare in the not so capable hands of a teenager.

One lesbian escapade and an explosive row over hair removal later, the contestants of Ibiza or Bust leave the island with more than sand in places they never knew existed…

Following on from Rosie’s comic romp The SquareThe Brazilian is a hilarious summer read, combining sun, sex and celebrity in one satirical scoop, and is perfect for fans of Rachel Johnson and Claire Sandy.

I rate this book 5/5 📓📒📕

Publication Date 14th June 2017

https://rosiemillard1.wordpress.com

Pre Order NOW https://www.amazon.co.uk/Brazilian-Square-Rosie-Millard/dp/1787199878/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1497342294&sr=1-3


Hideaway Fall Woke my Awakenings

#hideaway Hello Everyone, I am so sorry that I have not been around in the #BookReviewing world for a while but I am returning very slowly.

My trusty Kindle died on me and I lost all of my delicious upcoming new books to read too, amongst other things. 

Anyway, I had a wonderful surprise pop through my letter box over the weekend. A fabulous package from @hideawayfall, in it was non other than @MJonathanLee new book #BrokenBranches. Looks and sounds amazing so thank you #hideaway.


So I am on my way to have a read and shall return. 


DO NOT DISTURB 😎

The Beachside Sweet Shop by Karen Clarke

#BookReview 📚📚  Thanks  @bookouture you’ve done it again. Top #Author @karenclarke123 has written a fabulous book which really made me smile.

The Beach side Sweet Shop has such a gorgeous cover, I felt I could have sat on that very deck chair and read my books on it! As I was actually brought up in a sweet shop I smiled all of the way through this gorgeous heartwarming read. A lot of the sweets reminded me of my childhood.

The fictional Seaside town of Shipley sounds gorgeous, I almost packed my bags and started looking on TripAdvisor for a place to stay. The characters and storyline are just everything I adore in a book. I can honestly say that I felt quite sad to be saying farewell to everyone at the end.

The Beachside Sweet Shop is going to be a #SummerSensation 

I rate this book 5/5

Description

Chocolate fudge, butterscotch and raspberry bonbons… treat yourself to some sugary treats, a big slice of friendship and a sprinkling of romance at The Beachside Sweet Shop.

When Marnie Appleton inherited a sweet shop from her grandfather she was determined to do his legacy proud. The shop has been a much-loved feature of the little seaside town of Shipley for years, but now Marnie needs to bring it up to date, and she’s recruited gorgeous new assistant Josh to help. 

Marnie gets busy redecorating the shop and choosing delicious new sweets to stock, but things are never that simple: new neighbour Isobel, a fame-hungry blogger, is on a crusade against sugar, and she’ll go to any lengths to secure bad publicity for Marnie’s shop. 

Marnie fights back with homemade sugar-free treats, but with her best friend Beth heavily pregnant, her grandmother Celia recovering from an operation, and her very recently ex-boyfriend Alex returning to Shipley with a new love, Marnie has a lot on her plate. 

And then there’s Josh, with whom Marnie is struggling to keep her relationship strictly professional…Will both the sweet shop and love flourish? 

A deliciously heartwarming read about family, friends and handmade coconut ice. Perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Debbie Johnson, and Tilly Tennant.

   

         🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻


Publication Date is March 2nd 2017

You can Pre Order from Amazon HERE

Keep up to date with what Karen is doing here too

http://www.writewritingwritten.blogspot.com


Paris for One and Other Stories by Jojo Moyes

#BookReview 📚📚 This book of short stories by @jojomoyes certainly hits the spot on a cold damp winters day, so Thank You @MichaelJBooks  & @NetGalley for making mine a brighter one. 💜

This was a quick read for me which I enjoyed. All of the stories had a bit of loveliness. Romance, Laughter, Heartache, Great Characters. I love JoJo’s work, she makes me smile. This book is a must have for everyone’s handbag.

I rate this book 5/5

Publication Date is February 9th 2017

Pre order NOW from AMAZON HERE

Description