We’ll Always Have Paris by Sue Watson

image

Many Thanks to @LittleBrownUK for contacting me to review
@suewatsonwriter #summerreading.
I have read and adored all of Sues books and this one most certainly did not disappoint.
It was a warm, comfortable read which any age group can enjoy. It made me think, in parts, of my late mum and how she must have felt when my dad past away.
This book tugged on my heartstrings too having met up with my first true love a year ago after just over thirty years. Has Sue been following us?!
Great book, fabulous summer read, I adored it so much

I give this book 10/10

Does first love deserve a second chance?

When she was almost seventeen, Rosie Draper locked eyes with a charismatic student called Peter during their first week at art college, changing the course of her life forever. Now, on the cusp of sixty-five and recently widowed, Rosie is slowly coming to terms with a new future. And after a chance encounter with Peter, forty-seven years later, they both begin to wonder ‘what if’ . . .

Told with warmth, wit and humour, We’ll Always Have Paris is a charming, moving and uplifting novel about two people; the choices they make, the lives they lead and the love they share.

Advertisements

A Family Holiday by Bella Osborne

image

Thanks once again to @HarperCollinsUK @HarperImpulse   @osborne_bella & @NetGalley for allowing me to review this really lovely book.
I adored the cover, so clean and welcoming and the story really had me gripped too. I had a lump in my throat on numerous occasions, I laughed loudly at certain things too. In all this really was such an enjoyable read which really touched my heart.
My Rating 10/10

She’ll do whatever it takes to keep this family together…

As the nanny to four quirky but loveable children, Charlie French has learnt that if there was ever a cement shortage Weetabix would be a viable substitute and that YouTube videos can go viral in seconds, much to her horror. But, most importantly, she’s learnt that whatever happens you stick together as a family.

When tragedy strikes, Charlie is forced to decide whether it’s time to move on or fight to keep the children she loves. With the distraction of the children’s gorgeous Uncle Felix and the chance of a holiday in stunning Antigua, she’s left wondering if turquoise seas can wash away their present troubles. Is the pull of white sand beaches too tempting to resist or will paradise fail to keep them all together?

Can’t Buy Me Love by Jane Lovering

image

I’ve been a massive fan of @janelovering for a number of years so when I was accepted by @ChocLituk to review her latest book,  from @NetGalley, I couldn’t wait to open it up and get settled for a fun filled read.
Jane, once again, did not let me down. One day I will learn not to read  her books outdoors as laughing alone may one day have me taken away by the men in white coats. This is such an entertaining read which will have the old chuckle muscles working overtime and the bladder doing somersaults.

My rating… 10/10

Is it all too good to be true?

When Willow runs into her old university crush, Luke, she’s a new woman with a new look – not to mention a little bit more cash after a rather substantial inheritance. Could she be lucky enough to score a fortune and her dream man at the same time?

Then Willow meets Cal; a computer geek with a slightly odd sense of humour. They get on like a house on fire — although she soon realises that there is far more to her unassuming new friend than meets the eye …

But money doesn’t always bring happiness, and Willow finds herself struggling to know who to trust. Are the new people in her life there because they care – or is there another reason?

The Last Days of Summer plus Guest Post by Author – Sophie Pembroke

image

This book  by  @Sophie_Pembroke had me intrigued as soon as I turned the first page, it was one of those stories where one really didn’t know what would happen. There was humour too, I do love humour. Actually this book had it all.
Romance, Mystery, Intrigue, Family Matters, as I said, it had it all. This book had me transfixed until the very end.
This is a compelling summer read which should be on everyone’s ” to read” list

Escape to the beautiful world of Rosewood this summer The only feel good summer read you’ll need, The Last Days of Summer is perfect for fans of Harriet Evans, Debbie Johnson and Lucy Diamond. 

Saskia has always loved Rosewood. It was her family home, her sanctuary and her memories of it are vividly alive even after two years of being absent. Never did she think she would be standing in the rose garden afraid to cross the threshold and own up to the past she had run away from.

So much about Rosewood hasn’t changed, everyone still dresses for dinner, sips cocktails on the terrace, her father cooks every delicious meal and her beloved grandfather still tells spellbinding stories. But the cold reception from her grandmother, Ellie’s complete avoidance of her and the judgmental gaze of Edward, her grandfather’s new assistant (who seems to know more than enough about her past), are all new to Kia.

All Kia needs to do is attend her grandparent’s Golden Wedding Party and make it to the train station without her secret coming out. What could possible go wrong in just one weekend?

___________________________________________________________________
Today on my blog Sophie Pembroke is sharing details on all the great vintage clothes in The Last Days of Summer’ 

Dressing for Dinner

I’ve always thought you can tell something about a person by what they choose to wear – even if what you learn is just that they have no interest in clothes. We dress for ourselves, for the occasion, to impress others, to fit in or to stand out. But what we choose to put over our skin affects people’s perception of us, whether we want it to or not. A person’s appearance is the ultimate in judging a book by its cover.

In my latest novel, The Last Days of Summer, the main character, Saskia, uses this to her advantage. Unsettled and a little unwelcome back home at the family house of Rosewood, she hides behind costumes and make up, hoping that maybe her family will forget all the reasons she left two years ago and why she hasn’t been back since, if only she doesn’t look like herself.

She’s helped in this endeavor by her Great Aunt Therese, who runs a vintage clothes shop online, putting together the perfect vintage outfits for every occasion. These are particularly useful at Rosewood, where the old fashioned tradition of dressing for dinner is still observed.

During the course of the book, Therese dresses Saskia in a 1950s off the shoulder dress, complete with high ponytail for that all American look; a 1930s navy dress that Therese once wore herself, a 1920’s green silk flapper dress, and a black, Hepburnesque shift dress. Left to her own devices, Saskia ends up wearing a mix of clothes she left behind after university and inappropriate office wear, or accidentally topless on her balcony, so it’s just as well Therese is on hand, really.

The costumes Saskia put on help her to find her way through the toughest week of her life. But she can’t spend the whole of her life pretending to be someone else, can she? Playing dress up and make believe?

By the end of the book, will Saskia manage to shed her costumes and appear as herself?

You’ll have to read The Last Days of Summer to find out…

The Last Days of Summer is out now from Carina UK.
Keep up with all the latest from Rosewood at http://www.SophiePembroke.com

image

Four Weddings & A Fiasco by Catherine Ferguson

image

Thanks so much @HarperCollinsUK @NetGalley and Catherine Ferguson for allowing me to review this fab summer read

I read it in one sitting in my garden with the sun beating down on me and it felt just right. It was Chicklit at its best and true escapism which I thoroughly enjoyed.
A Summer hit in my eyes.

Katy Peacock lives a life as colourful as her name.

As a wedding photographer, she spends her days making other people smile as she captures all sorts of fun and capers at celebrations that range from the wacky to the wild.

But her own life isn’t looking quite so rosy. Her mum is acting out of character, her menacing ex is back on the scene, and she is torn between two gorgeous men. And that’s before we even get started on the trouble her sister is causing . . .

As Katy weathers the ups and downs of the season, she revisits problems from the past, discovers new friendships and finds that four weddings and a fiasco have the power to change her world beyond measure.

The Light of Paris by Eleanor Brown

image

Firstly Thank You so much @fictionpubteam @HarperCollinsUK
@eleanorwrites & @NetGalley for allowing me to review this wonderful book.

As soon as I saw Paris in the title, I knew it was the book for me and  i just adore the stunning cover it looks so romantic.
The story too had me gripped. History meets the present day mixed really well.

From the bestselling author of THE WEIRD SISTERS comes an enchanting tale of self-discovery that will strike a chord with anyone who has ever felt they’ve lost their way. 
Chicago, 1999.
Madeleine is trapped – by her family’s expectations, by her controlling husband – in an unhappy marriage and a life she never wanted. But when she finds a diary detailing her grandmother Margie’s trip to Jazz Age Paris, she meets a woman she never knew: a dreamer who defied her strict family and spent a summer living on her own, and falling for a charismatic artist.
When Madeleine’s marriage is threatened, she escapes to her hometown to stay with her disapproving mother. Shaken by the revelation of a family secret and inspired by her grandmother’s bravery, Madeleine creates her own summer of joy. In reconnecting with her love of painting and cultivating a new circle of friends, the chance of a new life emerges – but will she be bold enough take it?