The Brazilian by Rosie Millard

#BookBlogger 📚📚 Thanks once again must go to @Legend_Press and of course @Rosiemillard for putting in all of the hard work in this fabulous funny summer read.


This had me laughing so much, the characters are great and had me chuckling at every turn of the page. Rosie writes really well, she knows how far to go and has obviously researched well. 

This is one of the top ten books everyone needs in their case or backpack this year, they certainly will not be disappointed. It has fun, emotion, entertainment and lots of summer sun. Grab a Pina Colada and The Brazilian and get on that sun lounger and encounter a summer read you will never forget.

Description

Following a sensational scandal at one of London’s most desired postcodes, Jane and Patrick decide to escape the gossip with a family holiday to Ibiza, their eight-year-old son George in tow.

Also on the island that week is a TV reality show involving an eccentric artist, a horny It Girl, a Brazilian footballer and a famous magician.

As hapless celebrities are picked off one by one, Jane is desperate to be on the programme, leaving childcare in the not so capable hands of a teenager.

One lesbian escapade and an explosive row over hair removal later, the contestants of Ibiza or Bust leave the island with more than sand in places they never knew existed…

Following on from Rosie’s comic romp The SquareThe Brazilian is a hilarious summer read, combining sun, sex and celebrity in one satirical scoop, and is perfect for fans of Rachel Johnson and Claire Sandy.

I rate this book 5/5 📓📒📕

Publication Date 14th June 2017

https://rosiemillard1.wordpress.com

Pre Order NOW https://www.amazon.co.uk/Brazilian-Square-Rosie-Millard/dp/1787199878/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1497342294&sr=1-3


This Other Eden by Sharon Booth

The lovely @Sharon_Booth1 kindly sent over This Other Eden for me to read. I’d seen an interview over on @helenpollard147 blog and I just knew I needed to have this author on my book shelf.

Oh Wow!!!. Until now I was a Sharon Booth virgin, how on earth has that happened? We are both apparently from the same neck of the woods and I’ve somehow missed her work.

I really adored this Yorkshire based book, as a Yorkshire Lass I felt at home reading it if I’m honest. The story had me hooked. We had deception, laughs and romance with a few little twists and of course the Yorkshire Dales would not be complete without sheep and a sexy farmer.

This really was an enjoyable read and I just know that I will be shouting from the rooftops for book two.

I rate this book 5/5

Eden wants to keep her job, and, as that means spending the summer caring for three young children in the wilds of the Yorkshire Dales, she has no choice but to go along with it. Her consolation prize is that their father is unexpectedly gorgeous. Sadly for Eden, she’s not quite herself any longer… 
Honey wants to spend the summer with her married politician lover. The only problem is, there are quite a few people determined to put obstacles in her path. But what Honey wants, Honey usually gets… 
Cain wants a knighthood and is willing to sacrifice almost anything for it. If his daughter is putting that goal in jeopardy, it’s time to get tough… 
Lavinia wants to keep her marriage intact, and if that means turning a blind eye to her husband’s philandering, she’ll do it. But that doesn’t mean she can’t have someone else spying for her… 
Eliot wants to care for his children, and to be left in peace to heal. When he gets an unexpected guest, he wonders if it’s time to start living again. But is this sheep farmer having the wool pulled over his eyes?
Cake baking, jam making, gymkhana games and sheep showing. Blackmail, deception, spying and cheating. Laughter, forgiveness, redemption and falling in love. A lot can happen during one summer in Skimmerdale…
🐏🐏💖💖🐑🐑💖💖🐏🐏💖💖🐑🐑💖💖🐏🐏💖💖🐑🐑💖💖🐏🐏💖💖🐑🐑💖💖
Follow Sharon on FACEBOOK

Sharon’s Website is HERE

Here’s the link to Purchase the book from AMAZON

Becoming Reverend by Matt Woodcock

When I saw #BecomingReverend over on @NetGalley I knew I had to get in touch with @CHPublishingUK. I’ve read about @revmattwoodcock in my local newspaper so I knew about his beer festivals 🍺🍺🍺. Matt is a legend in the real ale festival world and tickets to his events are like gold dust, I’ve still to manage to get any! Maybe my review may help? 🍻🍻🍻🍻

Anyway, back to this absolutely brilliant frank account of his time at, as it says on the cover #BecomingReverend. This is a Funny yet also moving diary of Matt’s life and how he has got to where he is today. 

Please do not be put off by his occupation if you are not religious, I guarantee as a biography you really will enjoy this straight from the heart book. 

Pull up a pew, Grab a pint and keep an eye out for any lurking camels in this great debut book.

I rate this book 5/5

Description

Lily’s House by Cassandra Parkin

Thank You so much to @Legend_Press for the privilege of been able to review @cassandrajaneuk soon to be released #LilysHouse

Description

Lily’s House has a voice that leaps out of the page and holds you tight. Fresh. Original. Spell-binding.’ — Jane Corry, author of My Husband’s Wife

Lily’s House is a beautiful story that carefully unravels the depth of love and lies in a family. Cassandra’s writing pulled me in from the first page and wouldn’t let me go until I’d finished. Even then it stayed with me for a long time.’ — Heidi Perks, author of Beneath the Surface

‘Unexpectedly dark and dream-like. I loved the twists throughout – a very enjoyable read.’ — Natalie K. Martin, No.1 Amazon best-selling author

Lily’s House is a beautiful, rich, haunting and addictive read. Cassandra Parkin effortlessly weaves magic in this story of long-gone secrets, self-discovery, empowerment, and love. The book is assured, mature… a masterpiece. I’ll never forget it.’ — Louise Beech, author of How to be Brave

When Jen goes to her grandmother’s house for the last time, she’s determined not to dwell on the past. As a child, Jen adored Lily and suspected she might be a witch; but the spell was broken long ago, and now her death means there won’t be any reconciliation.

Lily’s gone, but the enchantments she wove and the secrets she kept still remain. In Lily’s house, Jen and her daughter Marianne reluctantly confront the secrets of the past and present – and discover how dangerous we become when we’re trying to protect the ones we love

✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴

As soon as I heard that Cassandra had a new book on the horizon, I just knew I had to read it. I adored her last book The Beach Hut so really was looking forward to getting my teeth into more of her work.

I think the cover of Lily’s House is stunning, kind of magical. The content, what can I say. Cassandras writing reminds me a little of Virginia Andrews ( Flowers in the Attic. etc) and this really is a compliment. I adore how the story pans out, how you meet the characters, yet they keep you on your toes. This is so well written, I couldn’t put it down over the weekend. This, I feel, will be a number One. 


I rate this book 5/5


I cannot wait until the 18th October when Cassandra and http://www.legendtimesgroup.co.uk/legend-press are holding a launch event, on that night I shall purchase a hot off the press copy of this fabulous book and even get the lovely author to sign it for me

Publication Day for this great book is 15th October 2016 

You can Pre Order here > https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lilys-House-Cassandra-Parkin/dp/1785079344/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1474291107&sr=8-1&keywords=Lilys+house

Follow Cassandra’s blog here > https://cassandraparkin.wordpress.com/

Dine With The Chilli Devil and Support Yorkshire Cancer Research

The lovely @chillidevil is supporting @yorkshirecancer research at The Monks Walk Pub In Highgate, Beverley, and the menu looks FANTASTIC!!!!


When: Saturday 30th July – 7:30pm – 11:00pm
Where: Monk’s Walk pub, Highgate, Beverley
Who: supporting Yorkshire Cancer research

Another Chilli Night, another new venue; this time an amazing historic (13th century) real ale pub in Beverley.

The ex-virger of Beverley Minster has teamed up with local food producer Chilli Devil Sauces to organise a charity evening in support of Yorkshire Cancer Research.

Neil Pickford, now licensee of the Monks Walk public house in Beverley, and Chilli Devil Ian Ibbetson are using the evening to preview a new venture that will see the food producer opening a new pub food offer in Monk’s Walk, combining spicy World Food with traditional pub grub.

The buffet evening on Saturday, July 30, will feature a selection of items from the new menu. There will also be a raffle and auction, with a chilli experience day among the goodies up for grabs.

Tickets are just £10.00 in advance from http://www.chillidevilsauces.com/events/yorkshire-cancer-research-monks-walk or from The Monks Walk in Highgate in Beverley, East Yorkshire.

It looks like a great night so close to my heart. 

I Found You by Lisa Jewell

image

Thanks again to @PenguinRHUKNews and @NetGalley for the privilege of reviewing this really wonderful book by such a talented writer in @lisajewelluk .
When I read that some of this book was set in East Yorkshire, I had to read it, as I live in East Yorkshire so was intrigued.
The cover made me think I should be reading this book on a cold winters night.

I loved the plot, I loved the characters and the gripping thriller that had me hooked throughout.

I rate this book 10/10
               ———————————————————————————
How long have you been sitting out here?’

‘I got here yesterday.’

‘Where did you come from?’

‘I have no idea.’

East Yorkshire: Single mum Alice Lake finds a man on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, no idea what he is doing there. Against her better judgement she invites him in to her home.

Surrey: Twenty-one-year-old Lily Drew has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Two women, twenty years of secrets and a man who can’t remember lie at the heart of Lisa Jewell’s brilliant new novel

Two Words: Chilli Devil

If you like #Chilli, you really must try @chillidevil. I dropped by today and met the lovely Ian and what a friendly man he is.

image

image

I have always loved hot and spicy foods and sauces so trying some of his wonderful delights has been an absolute treat to my palate.
Chilli Devil also make Yorkshire Brown Sauce and Yorkshire Ketchup and I have to say that after trying both I could just eat them alone spread on bread!!

image

The Yorkshire Ketchup really reminded me of my childhood. My parents used to have some tomato sauce in the pantry that was really tasty and I’ve never tasted anything as nice, until now.
This is absolutely gorgeous, a proper ketchup, like a ketchup should be.
🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅🍅

image

The Yorkshire Brown Sauce was just as tasty, I cannot wait to have a massive dollop on my gammon later, it had a nice kick to it, a very pleasant kick, one I like to call, a Kickette.
🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴🍴

The Whisky & Chilli Marmalade really was out of this world. I put some on my chicken at lunchtime to oomph up my sandwich, and boy did it do just that. It had a kick but the tanginess of the marmalade made it very palatable.

image

Ian, The Head Saucerer says

My favourite uses for Chilli & Whisky Maramalade (toast aside) are either using it as a glaze on chicken, or diluting it a little with hot water (or more whisky) and drizzling it over chocolate mud pie…

You really need to take a look at Chilli Devils Website at all of their products, they really are amazing:
http://www.chillidevilsauces.com 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥follow them on Facebook https://m.facebook.com/chillidevilsauces
And also on Twitter @chillidevil 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥