How To Mend A Broken Heart by Anna Mansell

#BookReview 📚📚   @bookouture kindly whizzed over a copy of @AnnaMansell soon to be released “How to Mend a Broken Heart” via @NetGalley 

I loved the cover of this book, it drew me to it straight away, purple is my favourite colour and i am a big romantic. The story is really well written with some amazing charactors which really gelled well. I loved how the plot unfolded and kept me hooked. This was a book with many different emotions but most certainly thought provoking and powerful. 

I rate this book 4/5

Description

Advertisements

Paris for One and Other Stories by Jojo Moyes

#BookReview 📚📚 This book of short stories by @jojomoyes certainly hits the spot on a cold damp winters day, so Thank You @MichaelJBooks  & @NetGalley for making mine a brighter one. 💜

This was a quick read for me which I enjoyed. All of the stories had a bit of loveliness. Romance, Laughter, Heartache, Great Characters. I love JoJo’s work, she makes me smile. This book is a must have for everyone’s handbag.

I rate this book 5/5

Publication Date is February 9th 2017

Pre order NOW from AMAZON HERE

Description

The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts by Jennifer Joyce

#BookReviewer Oh @HQDigitalUK how I love you for having such fabulous writers like @Writer_Jenn. I adored the name of this book, there is something about teashops, coffeeshops, bookshops, antique shops and the like, in titles of books that draw me to them and this has the added bonus of a very pretty cover too. What more could this Yorkshire girl ask for.

I loved the romance the (speed dating was fun) and those cakes sounded gorgeous I am pleased my book wasn’t edible or I swear I would have piled the pounds on reading this scrumptious warm romantic book. The characters all gelled well and Jennifer’s writing really is heartwarming.

I rate this book 5/5 

Description

A deliciously charming romance, perfect for fans of Caroline Roberts, Jane Linfoot and Debbie Johnson.

From fairy cakes to first dates!

Maddie Lamington’s dreams are crumbling around her. If she doesn’t come up with a plan to save her little teashop on Sweet Street soon, it might be too late…

So when she sees how the perfect apple crumble brings together her lonely father and faithful customer Birdie, inspiration strikes: she’ll set up a dating night involving all her sweetest bakes.

Luckily, seriously gorgeous Caleb is on hand to help sprinkle a little magic – and a lot of sugar! Could one night of scrumptious first dates fix Maddie’s heartbreak and save her beloved teashop, too?

Publication Date 8th February 2017

Available to pre order now on AMAZON

Available Editions

EDITION
ISBN
PRICE

The Two O’Clock Boy by Mark Hill

 #BookReviewer #BritCrime .. Thank You @LittleBrownUK  @markhillwriter @NetGalley for yet another great book to get my mind blowing! This certainly did that from the very beginning. I had no idea who I should trust, I like books like that, books that keep me guessing right until the very end. This did just that with all its twists and turns and cold and calculating characters. Boy it was a good one.

I rate this book 5/5

Description

TWO CHILDHOOD FRIENDS… ONE BECAME A DETECTIVE… ONE BECAME A KILLER…

One night changed their lives
Thirty years ago, the Longacre Children’s Home stood on a London street where once-grand Victorian homes lay derelict. There its children lived in terror of Gordon Tallis, the home’s manager.

Cries in the fire and smoke
Then Connor Laird arrived: a frighteningly intense boy who quickly became Tallis’ favourite criminal helper. Soon after, destruction befell the Longacre, and the facts of that night have lain buried . . . until today.

A truth both must hide
Now, a mysterious figure, the Two O’Clock Boy, is killing all who grew up there, one by one. DI Ray Drake will do whatever it take to stop the murders – but he will go even further to cover up the truth.

Discover the gripping, twist-filled start to a fantastic new London-set crime thriller series starring morally corrupt DI Ray Drake – the perfect new addiction for fans of Luther.


Amazon Link

A Stitch of Time…The Year a Brain Injury Changed My Language and Life by Lauren Marks 

# BookReviewer ..Special Thanks to @SimonBooks & @NetGalley for this truly remarkable insight into this lady’s recovery process after a brain injury. This really was such an interesting book which Lauren explains all different aspects of what actually happened to her and how she had to have a speech therapist to help her find her voice again. This is one fascinating medical journal 

I rate it 5/5

Description

EDITION
ISBN
PRICE

Welcome to Lagos by Chibundu Onuzo

#BookReviewer. There was something about the cover of this book which I really liked and @FaberBooks kindly whizzed this book over to me via @NetGalley and written by @ChibunduOnuzo.

What a wonderful writer Chibundu is, who certainly seems to have researched before putting pen to paper. This book is so powerful and heart wrenching, I cried. Each of the seven main characters who are thrown together have a story to tell and boy they certainly are descriptive. I cried and felt I was so lucky to live in the country I live in. 

This was one truly powerful and thought provoking novel which I know will be remembered for a very long time.

I rate this book 5/5

Description

The May Queen by Helen Irene Young

#BookReviewer ..I adored the cover of #TheMayQueen by @helenireneyoung which @crookedcatbooks kindly sent over to me via @NetGalley.

The story reminded me very much of a wartime TV drama. Sitting by the coal fire as a child watching one with my parents. It was a heartwarming family saga. There was love and heartache and tears and joy. I actually enjoyed this very pleasant read.

I rate this book 5/5


DESCRIPTION

A tale of one girl’s search for love and belonging, The May Queen is a debut novel that goes to the heart of what family means and finding your place in it.

‘She lapped in spirals beneath the sheen, feeling the tug of water rush against all of her. When she next surfaced, she couldn’t remember what it was to be on land. Seeing her clothing on the bank as things belonging to another…’

It all began beside the mill pond. Honest, fair and eager to please, fifteen-year-old May has a secret, and not of her own making. She wears it like an invisible badge, sewn to her skin, as though Ma stitched it there herself. It rubs only when she thinks of Sophie, Pa or the other name that’s hidden there; that no one knows about.

Caught in an inevitable net of change, May joins the Wrens, leaving her Cotswolds home for war-torn London and the Blitz. As a dispatch rider, she navigates the city by day and night, surviving love and loss throughout a blackout of remembered streets and wrong turns.

Night after night, the bombs drop and, like those around her, she takes cover in the shadows when they do. But May is waiting for a greater shadow to lift, one which will see the past explode into the present.

Available Editions

EDITION
ISBN
PRICE