Antique recipe book ( update)

A couple of weeks ago I mentioned about my late Grandma’s cookery book which she gave me when I was a child. Well, a friend and I visited the @BBC_ARoadshow at Castle Howard in North Yorkshire and I took my little book with me.

https://thereadingshed.wordpress.com/2017/07/10/my-grandmas-recipe-book/

The expert ( pictured with me) informed me that it was obviously a well used recipe book which would have been kept in my Grandma’s apron pocket and would have been used daily.

He also told me it was only of sentimental value which I kind of guessed. I am quite happy to have my little blue cookery book with all of it’s quotes and recipes of bygone days in my possession for years to come.

To think that Grandma carried it in her Pinny ( apron) while cooking for the family, makes it even more special.

Leave a Reply

