Isolation Junction by Jennifer Gilmour

#BookBlogger 📚  I knew I had to read and #review @JenLGilmour book “Isolation Junction” as soon as I heard about it as it is a subject so close to my heart, yet something only those very close to me know exactly the true impact it has had on me. 

This truly had me in tears. It is a well written account and I really do applaud Jennifer for writing about such a “behind closed doors” subject. People do not realise that Domestic Abuse is not just Physical abuse but Mental Abuse too. Even typing out this review, I am crying. 

People need to read this book so they know the kind of torment that others are going through, yet are either too scared or just “can’t get out” of the relationship. And to know that there is light at the end of the tunnel and that help is out there.

I rate this book 5/5

                             ⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛⚛

Jennifer recently made a television appearance too, here she is chatting about this wonderful book and all of the hard work that went into it.

Description

Rose is the mother of two young children, and finds herself living a robotic life with an abusive and controlling husband. While she struggles to maintain a calm front for the sake of her children, inside Rose is dying and trapped in ‘Isolation Junction’. 

She runs an online business from home, because Darren won’t let her work outside the house. Through this, she meets other mums and finds courage to attend networking events, while Darren is at work, to promote her business. 

It’s at one of these events that Rose meets Tim, a sympathetic, dark-haired stranger who unwittingly becomes an important part of her survival. 

After years of emotional abuse, of doubting her future and losing all self-confidence, Rose takes a stand. Finding herself distraught, alone and helpless, Rose wonders how she’ll ever escape with her sanity and her children. With 100 reasons to leave and 1,000 reasons she can’t, will she be able to do it? 

Will Tim help her? Will Rose find peace and the happiness she deserves? Can Rose break free from this spiralling life she so desperately wants to change? 

http://jennifergilmour.com/

Purchase on Amazon

Summer at Bluebell Bank by Jen Mouat

As a #BookBlogger, I’m always happy to receive a #newrelease and @HQDigitalUK once again came up trump’s with @jenmouat_author #romcom Summer at Bluebell Bank.

The book had me captivated from the start, i loved the bookshop it made me want to hunt it down. The characters were well written and the storyline and area it was written in had me wanting more. Family relationships, love and friendship this is a really great read.

I rate this book 5/5

Description

Returning home is never smooth sailing . . .

Summoned by her childhood best friend, Kate Vincent doesn’t stop to think, instead she books a one-way ticket from New York back to Wigtown, Scotland and leaves her glittering new life behind. Scenes of idyllic holidays at Bluebell Bank with the Cotton family dance in her mind, but not everything has stayed the way it once was . . . Especially when her first love, Luke, returns to town, too.

Emily Cotton never expected one email, sent off in a wine-fuelled daze, to bring her old friend barrelling through the front door of her dismally failing bookshop. But life for the Cottons isn’t how it once was, Emily’s brothers are hardly speaking, her beloved grandmother isn’t quite the same and Emily . . . well, Emily is the one most in need of Kate’s help.

Kate has given herself until the end of the summer to stay in Wigtown. Can she bring the Cottons back together, and save the family who once saved her?

Publication Date 2nd August 2017

EDITION
ISBN
PRICE

Pre Order https://www.amazon.co.uk/Summer-Bluebell-Bank-Jen-Mouat-ebook/dp/B0719L2JYL/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1498103793&sr=8-1&keywords=summer+at+bluebell+bank

Love and Laughter in the Time of Chemotherapy by Manjusha Pawagi

#BookBlogger #BookReview 📚📚 My Thanks to @_secondstory for allowing me to review this Biography.

This was a book I could associate with having had cancer and all of the treatment that goes with it. People think that a cancer ward is a sad place but this often is not the case and us patients can laugh at ourselves, our hairloss, the constant peeing when the chemotherapy drug is entering our system and in some cases ( mine anyway) a tingly feeling down below which made me giggle loudly on the ward and lots of other things in which others will think quite bizarre.

This is a personal story which is very interesting as well as some fun too. The book made me cry in parts yet in others it was uplifting. The lady is one tough cookie and this book is one that really needs to be read by everyone so they to can get a true idea of cancer treatment.

I rate this book 5/5

Description

An unexpected, wry, and funny memoir about one woman’s experience with cancer.

Manjusha Pawagi, a successful family court judge, has written a not-so-typical memoir about her experience with cancer. Wryly funny and stubbornly hopeful, this is her quirky take on what it’s like to face your own mortality when, to be honest, you thought you’d live forever. She describes how even the darkest moments of life can be made worse with roommates; details how much determination it takes to ignore the statistics; and answers the age-old question: what does it take to get a banana popsicle around here?

Publication Date is 10th October 2017


https://secondstorypress.ca/adult/love-and-laughter-in-the-time-of-chemotherapy



The Brazilian by Rosie Millard

#BookBlogger 📚📚 Thanks once again must go to @Legend_Press and of course @Rosiemillard for putting in all of the hard work in this fabulous funny summer read.


This had me laughing so much, the characters are great and had me chuckling at every turn of the page. Rosie writes really well, she knows how far to go and has obviously researched well. 

This is one of the top ten books everyone needs in their case or backpack this year, they certainly will not be disappointed. It has fun, emotion, entertainment and lots of summer sun. Grab a Pina Colada and The Brazilian and get on that sun lounger and encounter a summer read you will never forget.

Description

Following a sensational scandal at one of London’s most desired postcodes, Jane and Patrick decide to escape the gossip with a family holiday to Ibiza, their eight-year-old son George in tow.

Also on the island that week is a TV reality show involving an eccentric artist, a horny It Girl, a Brazilian footballer and a famous magician.

As hapless celebrities are picked off one by one, Jane is desperate to be on the programme, leaving childcare in the not so capable hands of a teenager.

One lesbian escapade and an explosive row over hair removal later, the contestants of Ibiza or Bust leave the island with more than sand in places they never knew existed…

Following on from Rosie’s comic romp The SquareThe Brazilian is a hilarious summer read, combining sun, sex and celebrity in one satirical scoop, and is perfect for fans of Rachel Johnson and Claire Sandy.

I rate this book 5/5 📓📒📕

Publication Date 14th June 2017

https://rosiemillard1.wordpress.com

Pre Order NOW https://www.amazon.co.uk/Brazilian-Square-Rosie-Millard/dp/1787199878/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1497342294&sr=1-3


The Little Bed & Breakfast by the Sea by Jennifer Joyce

#BookBlogger 📚📚  My Thanks once again must go to @HQDigitalUK & @Writer_Jenn for allowing me a sneaky peak of The Little Bed & Breakfast by the Sea. 

What a joy this book was. This is an easy summer read which will have you smiling and laughing more than once. The romance isn’t sloppy either, I hate sloppiness. I found myself associating with a couple of things mentioned which made this book even more enjoyable to me.

I loved the characters and the setting, the writer got everything right, yet again. This is a wonderful read, ideal for weekend retreats. It’s not a heavy read and will keep you entertained throughout.

I rate this book 5/5

Description

A cosy and charming romance set in an English seaside town, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Caroline Roberts.

Escape to the seaside this summer!

Mae loves running her little Bed & Breakfast, it’s the perfect place to raise her adorable four-year-old daughter! And no matter how persistently local vet, Alfie, chases her, she just doesn’t have time for men in her life.

Willow is busy building her dream home with her husband, Ethan, but with every month that passes she secretly worries that her happy ever after will never come true…

Melody only intended to stay in the bustling seaside town for a few days to capture the perfect photo. But when she meets Hugo – the charming man in the ice cream van – she decides to stay a little longer!

One thing is for sure, summer at the little Bed & Breakfast by the sea certainly has a few surprises in store…


Publication Date is 28th June 2017

Pre Order https://www.amazon.co.uk/Little-Bed-Breakfast-Sea-ebook/dp/B0727YW7DZ/ref=la_B00I3HFRFA_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1497011539&sr=1-1

http://www.jenniferjoycewrites.co.uk/


Meet Me At The Lighthouse by Mary Jayne Baker

#BookBlogger. 📚📚 Thank You so much @MaryJayneBaker for once again not disappointing me in your blooming brilliant writing skills when you wrote “Meet Me at the Lighthouse”. 

When I started reading Mary Jayne’s upcoming book, I knew it was going to be the book for me. There is the Yorkshire Coast for a start, and I’m a Yorkshire Lass, living just 13 miles away from the East Coast. There’s Monty the dog, and I am barking, excuse the pun, mad about dogs. Then there is a Hunky man, a love interest who is just so nice. What’s not to love?

The book had me in hysterics, I began reading this book whilst sat in my garden while the birds sang and all was quiet. Suddenly I was right in the pages, no getting me out of them. Unfortunately I came across something early on in the book which really made me laugh out loud, so much so, I could not stop and had to take a breather to compose myself before the neighbours called someone to take me away!

I returned later in the evening in the privacy of my own four walls were no-one could hear me if I started to cackle again ( I did, many times)

The characters are wonderful, the scenery splendid and I now want my own lighthouse. This book really has it all it makes a dark day so bright and really has brightened up my week. 

I rate this book 5/5

Description

‘The day I turned 28, I bought a lighthouse and met the love of my life’

Bobbie Hannigan’s life in a cottage by the sea with her dog and her twin sister is perfectly fine … until she decides the logical thing is to buy a lighthouse and open a music venue with Ross Mason, the first boy she ever kissed.

Bobbie tries to be professional with Ross, but the happily-ever-after they’re working toward is too good to resist. That is until someone from his past crawls back to cause trouble. Can Bobbie look past the secrets Ross has been keeping from her? Or will the boy, the lighthouse and the dream all slip away?

Escape to the Yorkshire coast this summer with this laugh-out-loud romantic comedy from Mary Jayne Baker!

Publication Date 30th June 2017

http://www.maryjaynebaker.co.uk/

Pre Order from Amazon UK