A Winter Affair by Minna Howard

The lovely people over at @Aria_Fiction kindly let me review A Winter Affair by @Adelica which I discovered over on @NetGalley and am I pleased they did.

This was one of those books I could imagine curled up under my duvet on a cold winters evening reading, but as a book reviewer I read winter books in summer because I blooming well can.

I adored the cover, it reminded me of an old Quality Street tin my Mum used to keep buttons in when I was a child.

The characters were loveable as was Bert the dog, this is the second book I’ve read with a Bert as a pet ( the last was a parrot) I adore Bert pets as my 15 year old rescue dog is a Bertie so I feel close to these pets ( OK I’m having a doggy moment here)

The story was heartwarming and funny which left a warm fuzzy feeling in my heart. I adore Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde, and Minna’s writing really reminds me of their books. 

This book will fly off the shelves once it is published, it really is wonderful.

I rate it 5/5

Publication date 1st September 2016

ISBN 9781784975869

Description

A wonderful warm, seasonal treat, whisking you on a magical adventure to the Swiss Alps. Full of food, laughter and fun. Perfect for the fans of Trisha Ashley.

With a recent divorce and empty nest Eloise Brandon is facing Christmas alone until a harried phone call from her godfather changes everything.

Accepting his challenge, Eloise finds herself en-route to Verbier and to her godfathers chalet in the beautiful Swiss Alps to help cater for some seriously rich, high rolling guests.

What ensues makes it a Christmas to remember. A heady alpine mixture of old friends, ex-husbands, mega-rich, super demanding guests, a dishevelled proprietor and Bert the dog.

Leave a Reply

