The Secret by Kathryn Hughes

Thanks to @headlinepg @NetGalley  & @KHughesAuthor for allowing me to review #TheSecret

PUBLICATION DATE 8th SEPTEMBER 2016

This book is a wonderful read which I thoroughly enjoyed. It is set in the 1970s and the present day.It is a very moving story which is beautifully written with passion.There are plenty of twists on each page to keep the reader guessing too. I loved this book and read it in one sitting.

I rate this book 10/10

Description

From Kathryn Hughes, the author of the No. 1 Kindle bestseller The Letter,comes The Secret – a heartbreaking novel of tragedy, hope and second chances. Readers who treasure the novels of Lesley Pearse and Susan Lewis will adore this author.

Mary has been nursing a secret. Forty years ago, she made a choice that would change her world for ever, and alter the path of someone she holds dear.

Beth is searching for answers. She has never known the truth about her parentage, but finding out could be the lifeline her sick child so desperately needs. When Beth finds a faded newspaper cutting amongst her mother’s things, she realises the key to her son’s future lies in her own past. She must go back to where it all began to unlock…The Secret.

We’ll Always Have Paris by Sue Watson ***Blog Tour***

Back in June I read and reviewed @suewatsonwriter new book. Now everyone can read the book and you all MUST too.

Here is 

My Review

I have read and adored all of Sues books and this one most certainly did not disappoint.
It was a warm, comfortable read which any age group can enjoy. It made me think, in parts, of my late mum and how she must have felt when my dad past away.
This book tugged on my heartstrings too having met up with my first true love a year ago after just over thirty years. Has Sue been following us?!
Great book, fabulous summer read, I adored it so much”

💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖

Is it ever too late for a second chance at first love?

A charming, moving second-chance love story for fans of Thursdays in the Park, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and Last Tango in Halifax.

Does first love deserve a second chance?

When she was almost seventeen, Rosie Draper locked eyes with a charismatic student called Peter during their first week at art college, changing the course of her life forever. Now, on the cusp of sixty-five and recently widowed, Rosie is slowly coming to terms with a new future. And after a chance encounter with Peter, forty-seven years later, they both begin to wonder ‘what if’ . . .

Told with warmth, wit and humour, We’ll Always Have Paris is a charming, moving and uplifting novel about two people; the choices they make, the lives they lead and the love they share.
About the author:

Sue Watson was a journalist on women’s magazines and national newspapers before working in a career in TV where she was a producer with the BBC. She has published six novels, her most well-known being Love, Lies and Lemon Cake. Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives in the Midlands and writes full time.

@suewatsonwriter

http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

First Comes Love by Emily Giffin

My Thanks to the lovely people over at @bookbridgr @HodderBooks & @emilygiffin for letting me read and review #FirstComesLove

This was a family saga with plenty of turmoil, love, loss and relationship woes. 

It was one of those books that you could not put down and just had to turn another page.It was a well written book and kept you thinking until the very end.

I rate this book 8/10

Description

Growing up, Josie and Meredith Garland shared a loving, if sometimes contentious relationship. Josie was impulsive, spirited, and outgoing; Meredith hardworking, thoughtful, and reserved. When tragedy strikes their family, their different responses to the event splinter their delicate bond.
 
Fifteen years later, Josie and Meredith are in their late thirties, following very different paths. Josie, a first grade teacher, is single—and this close to swearing off dating for good. What she wants more than the right guy, however, is to become a mother—a feeling that is heightened when her ex-boyfriend’s daughter ends up in her class. Determined to have the future she’s always wanted, Josie decides to take matters into her own hands.
 
On the outside, Meredith is the model daughter with the perfect life. A successful attorney, she’s married to a wonderful man, and together they’re raising a beautiful four-year-old daughter. Yet lately, Meredith feels dissatisfied and restless, secretly wondering if she chose the life that was expected of her rather than the one she truly desired. 
 
As the anniversary of their tragedy looms and painful secrets from the past begin to surface, Josie and Meredith must not only confront the issues that divide them, but also come to terms with their own choices. In their journey toward understanding and forgiveness, both sisters discover they need each other more than they knew . . . and that in the recipe for true happiness, love always comes first.
 
Emotionally honest and utterly enthralling, First Comes Love is a story about family, friendship, and the courage to follow your own heart—wherever that may lead.

Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel

Thank you @AtriaBooks @NetGalley and. @amypoeppel for allowing me to review this book

This was a well written witty book with some characters I liked yet I didn’t if that makes sense. It was definitely a page turner which intrigued me.

I rate this book 8/10

Description

When Only Cupcakes Will Do by Daisy James

Thank you again. @UKCarina and @NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to review @daisyjamesbooks upcoming book

This was a funny short read which I enjoyed. The baking was of course very acceptable, who doesn’t love a cupcake, just be careful what is added!!

A great romance with added food always a winner for me

I rate this book 9/10🍰🍰🍰

Description

When life gives you lemons, make lemon-drizzle cupcakes…

Lucie thought that proposing to her boyfriend in Tiffany’s would be the best day of her life. Until he said no. In just a few seconds, her whole world is turned upside-down! And when she accidentally switches cocoa powder for chilli powder at work, she finds herself out of a job, too…

Baking has always made life better in the past, but can Lucie really bake her way to happiness? Starting her own company, selling cupcakes out of an old ice cream van might just be the second chance that Lucie needs!

Of course, she never expected to find love along the way…

Breakfast Under A Cornish Sun by Samantha Tonge

Once again I need to thank the wonderful people at @UKCarina  and  @NetGalley for allowing me to review this book by @SamTongeWriter 

I absolutely fell in love with the cover of this book as soon as I saw it, so summery and it gave me that holiday feeling. 

I used to live down in Cornwall so any book with Cornwall in its title draws me in too so I really had to read this book 🌞

The inside of the book didn’t disappoint either, there was plenty of food talk which was described so well I almost needed a napkin to mop my mouth. The scenery descriptions too, made me feel as if I was actually there. The characters too seemed warm and friendly. 

This really was a wonderful book which made me feel happy, loved and warm inside.

A perfect summer read

I rate this book 10/10 🌞


Description

Kate Golightly needs to move forward and what better way to do that then with a trip to the Cornish coast with best friend and boss, Izzy.

The sea wind is just what Kate needs to finally relax and begin to let go of her past. Except she’s suddenly got one big reason to panic! She RSVP’d ‘yes’ to the Queen Bee of her high school’s wedding saying she’s bringing her boyfriend (she doesn’t have one) who looks just like Ross Poldark!

With only two weeks to find the Poldark look-alike of her dreams Kate is under a lot of pressure for the Cornish coast to deliver…

A hilarious and moving romantic novel from bestselling author, Samantha Tonge. A must-read this summer!

BOMB My Autobiography by Adam Jones

Thank you to the wonderful people over at @bookbridgr  and @headlinepg for giving me permission to review @adamjones3 autobiography

Adam seems a laid back well respected player. This book gave a great insight into the rugby union game. Plenty of blood, sweat and tears. There were lots of stories to make me laugh too. 

As a rugby league fan, it was nice to get a look into the scrum of the union boys, so to speak.

I rate this book 9/10

Description 🏈🏈🏈🏉🏉🏉

In rugby, there are the Flash Harrys and the Glory Boys: the fly-halves who run, kick and dazzle; the scrum-halves who nip and dart; the wingers who step and glide. These are the players who get the crowd on their feet, who set stadiums abuzz.

But they only get to do these things because other, less glorified figures do all of the donkey work. Adam Jones is one such figure. And for a decade he was one of the world’s best.

On many occasions when George North or Shane Williams were careering under the posts to score a try, and the crowd was engulfed in rapturous joy, Adam Jones would be hauling himself up from the turf, spitting blood and mud, and massaging his aching neck. He hadn’t scored the try; but more often than not it was his graft and strength which had made it.

This is the story of ‘Bomb’: the self-effacing manual labourer from the Swansea Valley who traded laying paving slabs for running out in some of the world’s most imposing sporting citadels. He rose to the pinnacle of his sport, winning virtually everything there was to be won: Grand Slams, Six Nations Championships, Lions tours, Pro12 titles.

In a nation of rugby heroes, Adam Jones has become a legend. Only six Welshmen can say they’ve won three Grand Slams. He is one of them: not just as a bit-part player, but as the beating heart of the most successful squad in Welsh rugby history. His was one of the first names on the team sheet. He was – literally and metaphorically – the cornerstone of this Welsh side.

In his autobiography, Jones reveals exactly what goes on in the murky depths of the front row: the tricks, the techniques, the physical and psychological warfare; and the mental fortitude it takes to endure in one of the hardest positions, in one of the world’s toughest contact sports. 🏉🏉🏉🏉🏉🏉🏉