The Life Of A Scilly Sergeant by Colin Taylor

image

Thank You so much @PenguinRHUKNews @NetGalley and the main man himself @ScillySergeant for giving me the opportunity to review this fabulously funny book.

When I first saw the cover I just knew I had to read this book. Mad man zooming about on small bike, just my cuppa.
I really loved the day to day happenings of Colin’s day. There are some very funny tales to tell and I laughed out loud.
I realise policing is a very serious matter and Colin seems THE man for the job.
A feel good read which makes me want to venture back “darn sarf” for a pint of “Drekters my Ansome” ( Northerner who lived/worked in Penzance trying to speak Cornish here)

I give this book 10/10

‘Policing is like this everywhere but not everywhere is Scilly’

Meet Sergeant Colin Taylor, he has been a valuable member of the police force for over twenty years, five of which have been spent policing the ‘quiet’ Isles of Scilly, a group of islands off the southwestern tip of the Cornish peninsula.

Colin has made it his purpose to keep the streets of Scilly free anchor thieves, goldfish abductors and other culprits, some drunken, intent on breaking the law. This book is the first hand account of how he did it.

Coupled with his increasingly popular ‘Isle of Scilly Police Force’ Facebook page, this book charts the day to day trials and tribulations of a small-island police officer, told in a perfectly humorous and affectionate way. This book is a fantastic read.

One thought on “The Life Of A Scilly Sergeant by Colin Taylor

  1. Thank you for the review of this Tracey. I was a police sergeant in the Metropolitan Police in London (now retired) and it will be good to look at the contrast of a sergeant in a much smaller area.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

