The Last Days of Summer plus Guest Post by Author – Sophie Pembroke

image

This book  by  @Sophie_Pembroke had me intrigued as soon as I turned the first page, it was one of those stories where one really didn’t know what would happen. There was humour too, I do love humour. Actually this book had it all.
Romance, Mystery, Intrigue, Family Matters, as I said, it had it all. This book had me transfixed until the very end.
This is a compelling summer read which should be on everyone’s ” to read” list

Escape to the beautiful world of Rosewood this summer The only feel good summer read you’ll need, The Last Days of Summer is perfect for fans of Harriet Evans, Debbie Johnson and Lucy Diamond. 

Saskia has always loved Rosewood. It was her family home, her sanctuary and her memories of it are vividly alive even after two years of being absent. Never did she think she would be standing in the rose garden afraid to cross the threshold and own up to the past she had run away from.

So much about Rosewood hasn’t changed, everyone still dresses for dinner, sips cocktails on the terrace, her father cooks every delicious meal and her beloved grandfather still tells spellbinding stories. But the cold reception from her grandmother, Ellie’s complete avoidance of her and the judgmental gaze of Edward, her grandfather’s new assistant (who seems to know more than enough about her past), are all new to Kia.

All Kia needs to do is attend her grandparent’s Golden Wedding Party and make it to the train station without her secret coming out. What could possible go wrong in just one weekend?

___________________________________________________________________
Today on my blog Sophie Pembroke is sharing details on all the great vintage clothes in The Last Days of Summer’ 

Dressing for Dinner

I’ve always thought you can tell something about a person by what they choose to wear – even if what you learn is just that they have no interest in clothes. We dress for ourselves, for the occasion, to impress others, to fit in or to stand out. But what we choose to put over our skin affects people’s perception of us, whether we want it to or not. A person’s appearance is the ultimate in judging a book by its cover.

In my latest novel, The Last Days of Summer, the main character, Saskia, uses this to her advantage. Unsettled and a little unwelcome back home at the family house of Rosewood, she hides behind costumes and make up, hoping that maybe her family will forget all the reasons she left two years ago and why she hasn’t been back since, if only she doesn’t look like herself.

She’s helped in this endeavor by her Great Aunt Therese, who runs a vintage clothes shop online, putting together the perfect vintage outfits for every occasion. These are particularly useful at Rosewood, where the old fashioned tradition of dressing for dinner is still observed.

During the course of the book, Therese dresses Saskia in a 1950s off the shoulder dress, complete with high ponytail for that all American look; a 1930s navy dress that Therese once wore herself, a 1920’s green silk flapper dress, and a black, Hepburnesque shift dress. Left to her own devices, Saskia ends up wearing a mix of clothes she left behind after university and inappropriate office wear, or accidentally topless on her balcony, so it’s just as well Therese is on hand, really.

The costumes Saskia put on help her to find her way through the toughest week of her life. But she can’t spend the whole of her life pretending to be someone else, can she? Playing dress up and make believe?

By the end of the book, will Saskia manage to shed her costumes and appear as herself?

You’ll have to read The Last Days of Summer to find out…

The Last Days of Summer is out now from Carina UK.
Keep up with all the latest from Rosewood at http://www.SophiePembroke.com

image

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s