Strictly My Husband by Tracy Bloom

Thank You so much  @LAWsomeTweets @TracyBBloom and @NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to review this tangolicious read

This really was a heartwarming fun read. Plenty of dancing, some “Ooo LaLa” and tears and tantrums really make this a fun enjoyable read. 

Sequins a plenty, dancing shoes a must. This is a pleasing page turner that will have you wanting to strut your stuff on the dancefloor.

I give this book 10/10


Description

Couples who dance together stay together

Laura loves it when Tom takes her for a late night tango around the kitchen after their friends have gone home and they’re avoiding the washing up. She can’t dance but who cares when no one is watching?

All that changes when Tom arrives on the doorstep with Carly, a professional dancer, and announces he’s offered her the spare room to rent while she performs in a show that Tom is directing.

An outraged Laura doesn’t feel like dancing with Tom anymore, but Carly does. It only takes two to tango, and given Tom’s history who knows where it could end?Will Laura be the one left watching from the sidelines whilst Carly waltzes off with her husband’s heart?

Couples who dance together stay together – or do they?

Friends Like Us by Siân O’Gorman

Once again I must thank the lovely people at @Aria_Fiction for allowing me to review another of their books from @NetGalley and to @msogorman of course xxx

This was a very lighthearted chick lit book. Enjoyable, with nice characters. An easy read too. I liked it, I felt I knew the characters and this book was one of this books that gave me a little smile. 

All in all, very enjoyable.

I give it 9/10


Description

Is it ever too late to take charge and live your life on your terms?

Life for school friends, Melissa, Steph and Eilis, hasn’t quite worked out the way they once imagined it might. 
Melissa may be professionally successful but inside she’s a mess of insecurities. Steph is lonely and lost, balancing the fragile threads of family life and walking on eggshells around her philandering husband and angry teenage daughter. 
Finally, Eilis, a hardworking A&E doctor, utterly exhausted by the daily pressures of work and going through the motions with her long-term partner Rob. 
It’s crunch time for all the friends…

A light-hearted and emotional novel about family, friendship and coming to terms with your past. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Amanda Prowse.

The Story of Our Life by Shari Low

image

Special Thanks must go to @Aria_Fiction @sharilow and @NetGalley for allowing me to review this wonderful book.

This really was a lovely book to read, heartwarming and a really enjoyable story. It had everything friendship, tears, laughter.
But believe me, you will not want to put it down.
Waterproof mascara on the commute a must!!

I shall defiantly give this book 10/10

Description

Unwind, laugh, cry … but feel uplifted with this bittersweet love story. Perfect for the fans of Jo-Jo Moyes and Marian Keyes.

So what would you do if your husband slept with another woman?

Colm strolled into my life fifteen years ago. If there’s ever such a thing as love at first sight, that was it for us both. 
A few weeks later we married, celebrating with those who cared, ignoring the raised eyebrows of the cynics. 
We knew better. This was going to be forever. The dream come true. The happy ever after. 

Until it wasn’t.

Because a couple of months ago everything changed. We discovered a devastating truth, one that blew away our future and forced us to revisit our past, to test the bonds that were perhaps more fragile than they seemed. 
So now I ask you again, what would you do if your husband slept with another woman? 
Because this is what I did. 
I’m Shauna. 
And this is the Story of Our Life… Praise for Shari Low:

‘Shari Low writes with humour and skill about the complicated subtleties of adult relationships’ Dorothy Koomson.

‘Great fun from start to finish’ Jenny Colgan.

‘There are only two words for Shari Low: utterly hilarious. I laughed like a drain’ Carmen Reid.

‘One of the funniest books I’ve ever read!’ Marisa Mackle.

I Found You by Lisa Jewell

image

Thanks again to @PenguinRHUKNews and @NetGalley for the privilege of reviewing this really wonderful book by such a talented writer in @lisajewelluk .
When I read that some of this book was set in East Yorkshire, I had to read it, as I live in East Yorkshire so was intrigued.
The cover made me think I should be reading this book on a cold winters night.

I loved the plot, I loved the characters and the gripping thriller that had me hooked throughout.

I rate this book 10/10
               ———————————————————————————
How long have you been sitting out here?’

‘I got here yesterday.’

‘Where did you come from?’

‘I have no idea.’

East Yorkshire: Single mum Alice Lake finds a man on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, no idea what he is doing there. Against her better judgement she invites him in to her home.

Surrey: Twenty-one-year-old Lily Drew has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Two women, twenty years of secrets and a man who can’t remember lie at the heart of Lisa Jewell’s brilliant new novel

The Weekends of You and Me by Fiona Walker

image

Special Thanks to @LittleBrownUK @fionawalkeruk & @NetGalley for allowing me to review this book.

The cover is adorable, I am a sucker for a pretty book cover and having read Fiona’s work before, knew I would enjoy this book.
It was a comfortable read but a little darker than her usual books
I rate this book 9/10

Can your final fling become your Happy Ever After?

When Jo Coulson finds herself single again in her late thirties, she finally resigns her membership to Last of the Hopeless Romantics, fully intending to tackle midlife and motherhood alone. First, she plans one legendary last fling…

In walks Harry Inchbold, and the connection is electric. Passionate, unpredictable and messily divorced, Harry is the perfect antidote to cosy coupledom. Known as The Sinner, drama follows him around with a clapper board.

Harry’s favourite holiday hideaway in the wilds of South Shropshire puts the mud and fun into the perfect dirty weekend. But at the cottage Harry reveals a very different side, melting Jo’s resolve. What better combination to face an uncertain future than two cynics who have learned from their mistakes?Together they make a pact; ‘same time next year’; they can promise no more than that.

Through life’s most stressful decade, Harry and Jo return to the Shropshire hills for one weekend each year to rediscover passion and make peace. As career, family and home crises all threaten to bring them unstuck, the cottage is their glue. Here, different rules apply: the day to day world is not allowed to intrude.With Harry and Jo, however, it’s only a matter of time before rules get broken. As real life gets increasingly complicated, can they keep renewing their promise?

The Life Of A Scilly Sergeant by Colin Taylor

image

Thank You so much @PenguinRHUKNews @NetGalley and the main man himself @ScillySergeant for giving me the opportunity to review this fabulously funny book.

When I first saw the cover I just knew I had to read this book. Mad man zooming about on small bike, just my cuppa.
I really loved the day to day happenings of Colin’s day. There are some very funny tales to tell and I laughed out loud.
I realise policing is a very serious matter and Colin seems THE man for the job.
A feel good read which makes me want to venture back “darn sarf” for a pint of “Drekters my Ansome” ( Northerner who lived/worked in Penzance trying to speak Cornish here)

I give this book 10/10

‘Policing is like this everywhere but not everywhere is Scilly’

Meet Sergeant Colin Taylor, he has been a valuable member of the police force for over twenty years, five of which have been spent policing the ‘quiet’ Isles of Scilly, a group of islands off the southwestern tip of the Cornish peninsula.

Colin has made it his purpose to keep the streets of Scilly free anchor thieves, goldfish abductors and other culprits, some drunken, intent on breaking the law. This book is the first hand account of how he did it.

Coupled with his increasingly popular ‘Isle of Scilly Police Force’ Facebook page, this book charts the day to day trials and tribulations of a small-island police officer, told in a perfectly humorous and affectionate way. This book is a fantastic read.

The Little Antique Shop Under The Eiffel Tower by Rebecca Raisin

image

My Thanks go to @UKCarina @NetGalley and the lovely @jaxandwillsmum for once again putting a smile on my face in allowing me to review one of your books xx

The cover of this book drew me in. I’ve not travelled very far in my life but Paris is on my list of places I really would like to go one day, so if I see the Eiffel Tower or any reference to Paris on a book cover, I want to open it up and get inside to know more.

The content did not disappoint either. There was Romance, Fun, Mystery, ooooo la la I love a bit of mystery.
The characters were so loveable too.
This book had it all and was a joy to read from beginning to end.

I give this book 10/10.

Escape to Paris this summer and prepare to be swept off your feet… 

Anouk LaRue used to be a romantic, but since she had her heart well and truly broken her love life has dissolved into nothing more than daydreams of the perfect man. Retreating to her extraordinary Little Antique Shop has always been a way to escape, because who could feel alone in a shop bursting with memories and beautiful objects…

Until Tristan Black bursts into an auction and throws her ordered world into a spin.

Following your heart is a little like getting lost in Paris – sometimes confusing and always exciting! Except learning to trust her instincts is not something Anouk is ready to do when it comes to romance, but the city of love has other ideas…