Book Reviewing Keeps Me Out Of Mischief

I’ve always loved to #read. Janet and John books were a firm favourite

image

My Parents taught me when I was 3 years old and since then I’ve been a #bookaholic.
I am lucky enough to be a book reviewer with @NetGalley
Here are the badges I have earned since been with them, I have no idea how many there are to collect but hey, they look nice 💖

image

Each member starts with this badge, to acknowledge your contributions in helping books succeed.

image

Members receive this badge when 3 or more of their reviews have been added to any NetGalley title details page by a publisher.

image

Every member receives this badge at the start of NetGalley’s annual Challenge

image

Members who provide feedback for 80% (or more) of their approved titles receive this badge. In order to qualify, members must have been approved for 20 titles (or more).

Advertisements

Don’t You Forget About Me by Liz Tipping

image

Another big Thank You to @UKCarina for allowing me to review another of their books, this time by @LizTipping I adored the cover and as a teenager in the 80s this book just had my name written all over it. It was a fun and quirky read I thoroughly enjoyed and was quite disappointed it had to end.

An athlete, a princess, a brain, a criminal, a basket case… 
Cara Dunham is definitely one of them. But stuck in her small hometown, with no prospects of escape, she’s struggling to find her thing. Her life is more book club than Breakfast Club and there is no Judd Nelson in sight!

So when Cara is invited to a school reunion she knows this is her chance to channel her inner Molly Ringwald and grab her John Hughes moment, once and for all. Because her teenage love, Daniel Rose will be there, the coolest boy at school and the one that got away.

But transforming into an 80’s icon isn’t easy and Cara enlists the help of her oldest friend, Stubbs, to teach her all she needs to know about being cool and quirky – a la Ringwald.

Except Stubbs thinks she’s perfect, just as she is and takes it upon himself to show Cara that her life might not be ‘movie perfect’, but there is always another take to get things right. And maybe the hero she’s dreamed of has been under her nose the whole time…

The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts by Annie Darling

image

Thank you so much @HarperCollinsUK  @fictionpubteam 
@_AnnieDarling & @NetGalley for allowing me to review this blooming wonderful book with such a pretty cover. I really love books featuring bookshops and tearooms/coffee shops. This had both. I sunk my eyeballs into it and never let it go from the clutches of my hands all evening.
It really was a joy to read. Everybody needs “The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts” on their bookshelf. Go on…. BUY IT NOW!!!

Where happy ever after is only a page away…
A delightful new series set in a quaint old bookshop, for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Once upon a time in a crumbling London bookshop, Posy Morland spent her life lost in the pages of her favourite romantic novels.

So when Bookend’s eccentric owner, Lavinia, dies and leaves the shop to Posy, she must put down her books and join the real world. Because Posy hasn’t just inherited an ailing business, but also the unwelcome attentions of Lavinia’s grandson, Sebastian, AKA The Rudest Man In London™.

Posy has a cunning plan and six months to transform Bookends into the bookshop of her dreams – if only Sebastian would leave her alone to get on with it. As Posy and her friends fight to save their beloved bookshop, Posy’s drawn into a battle of wills with Sebastian, about whom she’s started to have some rather feverish fantasies…

Like her favourite romantic heroines, will she get her happy ever after too?

The Butterfly Summer by Harriet Evans

image

Thank you so much to @headlinepg @HarrietEvans and @NetGalley for allowing me to review a book with such a pretty cover xx.
I was rather confused at the start of the book but soon got my head around it and really enjoyed the different topics which were covered. It certainly had you thinking from beginning to end.

Harriet Evans is the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer is her must-share new novel about Keepsake, a house in Cornwall that comes with a family legacy every bit as full of danger as it is of wonder. The Butterfly Summer is packed with unexpected plot twists that will make you gasp out loud and move you to tears – you’ll be desperate to add it to your shelf alongside the best of Santa Montefiore, Jojo Moyes and Kate Morton. 

‘Harriet Evans is a master at creating characters you feel like you know inside out’ Heat

The Butterfly Summer is an amazing achievement; heart-stopping and wonderful. It’s an epic, sweeping, romantic story told brilliantly… I could practically feel the butterflies brushing against my cheeks as I read’ Sophie Kinsella

What magic is this?

You follow the hidden creek towards a long-forgotten house.

They call it Keepsake, a place full of wonder … and danger. Locked inside the crumbling elegance of its walls lies the story of the Butterfly Summer, a story you’ve been waiting all your life to hear.

This house is Nina Parr’s birthright. It holds the truth about her family – and a chance to put everything right at last.

Those Summer Nights by Mandy Baggot

image

@Bookouture @mandybaggot and @NetGalley I Thank You xxx.

Once again my old chuckle muscles have been working overtime. This was such a funny read I drooled, cried and almost wet myself!! Not good when on public transport and alone. Everyone needs this book in their holiday bag or work bag, its guaranteed to get your day off to a wonderful start.

Sunshine, soft white sand and a sizzling hot millionaire – you don’t get trouble in paradise, right? 

Imogen Charlton is sorted. Dead-beat husband? History. Dream job? Application sent. But then her impulsive brother, Harry, spends every last penny on a Greek restaurant in Corfu, and is determined to run it himself. It’s up to Imogen to bring him to his senses. 

When sexy millionaire Panos Dimitriou offers to buy back his family taverna, Imogen wonders if all her prayers have been answered (and all her fantasies about to come true). But Harry won’t budge, and his enthusiasm is infectious. 

Bright pink bougainvillea tumbling over whitewashed walls, endless blue skies, the sparkling Mediterranean; it’s hard not to fall for Corfu. And that’s not all Imogen is falling for… 

As the sparks of passion fly between Imogen and Panos, is Imogen having second thoughts on selling the restaurant? And will she have to choose between love and a new dream? 

Before You by Kathryn Freeman

image

You’ve done it again @ChocLituk thank you xx and @KathrynFreeman1 and @NetGalley for allowing this #Motorsport fan to review this great book.

I follow F1 so was familiar with the car talk, the romance was an added bonus. This is a well written book but the cover in my opinion needs a little oomphing up a bit, I don’t know if its the font that doesn’t quite draw my eye to the cover or not. Its a shame as the content really is quite good.

When life in the fast lane threatens to implode …

Melanie Hunt’s job working for the Delta racing team means she is constantly rubbing shoulders with Formula One superstars in glamorous locations like Monte Carlo. But she has already learned that keeping a professional distance is crucial if she doesn’t want to get hurt.

New Delta team driver Aiden Foster lives his life like he drives his cars – fast and hard. But, no matter how successful he is, it seems he always falls short of his championship-winning father’s legacy. If he could just stay focused, he could finally make that win. 

Resolve begins to slip as Melanie and Aiden find themselves drawn to each other –with nowhere to hide as racing season begins. But when a troubled young boy goes missing, everything is thrown into turmoil, including Aiden’s championship dream

Please Release Me by Rhoda Baxter

image

Again my thanks to @ChocLituk @RhodaBaxter and @NetGalley for allowing me to review this book.
It was an interesting read, not my usual kind of book but, I really enjoyed it and loved the characters. It was unusual but enjoyable so go and buy it NOW!!!!

What if you could only watch as your bright future slipped away from you? 
Sally Cummings has had it tougher than most but, if nothing else, it’s taught her to grab opportunity with both hands. And, when she stands looking into the eyes of her new husband Peter on her perfect wedding day, it seems her life is finally on the up. 

That is until the car crash that puts her in a coma and throws her entire future into question. 

In the following months, a small part of Sally’s consciousness begins to return, allowing her to listen in on the world around her – although she has no way to communicate. 

But Sally was never going to let a little thing like a coma get in the way of her happily ever after …