The Girl In The Painting by Kirsty Ferry

image

What if you thought you knew a secret that could change history? 

Whilst standing engrossed in her favourite Pre-Raphaelite painting – Millais’s Ophelia – Cori catches the eye of Tate gallery worker, Simon, who is immediately struck by her resemblance to the red-haired beauty in the famous artwork. 

The attraction is mutual, but Cori has other things on her mind. She has recently acquired the diary of Daisy, a Victorian woman with a shocking secret. As Cori reads, it soon becomes apparent that Daisy will stop at nothing to be heard, even outside of the pages of her diary … 

Will Simon stick around when life becomes increasingly spooky for Cori, as she moves ever closer to uncovering the truth about Daisy’s connection to the girl in her favourite painting?

Thank you so much to Choc Lit and netgalley for allowing me to review this book

What an absolutely intriguing book this was. From start to finish it had me hooked. I loved the variety of things going on in this book. Certainly a winner.

The Reading Shed xxx

Advertisements

The Summer We Danced by Fiona Harper

image

Thank you @ HarlequinBooks UK @FiHarper_Author and @netgalley
I love books set in villages, this is set in a village so hit the mark. There is dancing, romance and laughter. Makes one want to take up dancing.

After a humiliating divorce and watching her former rock star husband leave her for a model live on reality TV, Pippa is determined to disappear. So she returns to the small Kent village where she grew up to make a fresh start. Little did she know that would mean saving her beloved childhood dance school or falling for her old school crush Tom too!

The Reading Shed xxx

The Little French Guesthouse by Helen Pollard

image

Thank you so much to @bookouture @netgalley and @helenpollard147 for allowing me to review this absolutely wonderful book.

I loved every single page of this book and didn’t want the story to end. It had me hooked from start to finish, had me giggling on the bus ( rather embarrassing) It is one of those warm, cosy books that needs coffee and croissants. This book really worked for me xxx

Sun, croissants and fine wine. Nothing can spoil the perfect holiday. Or can it? 
When Emmy Jamieson arrives at La Cour des Roses, a beautiful guesthouse in the French countryside, she can’t wait to spend two weeks relaxing with boyfriend Nathan. Their relationship needs a little TLC and Emmy is certain this holiday will do the trick. But they’ve barely unpacked before he scarpers with Gloria, the guesthouse owner’s cougar wife. 

Rupert, the ailing guesthouse owner, is shell-shocked. Feeling somewhat responsible, and rather generous after a bottle (or so) of wine, heartbroken Emmy offers to help. Changing sheets in the gîtes will help keep her mind off her misery. 

Thrust into the heart of the local community, Emmy suddenly finds herself surrounded by new friends. And with sizzling hot gardener Ryan and the infuriating (if gorgeous) accountant Alain providing welcome distractions, Nathan is fast becoming a distant memory.

Fresh coffee and croissants for breakfast, feeding the hens in the warm evening light; Emmy starts to feel quite at home. But it would be madness to walk away from her friends, family, and everything she’s ever worked for, to take a chance on a place she fell for on holiday – wouldn’t it? 

The Reading Shed xxx

Only in Naples by Katherine Wilson

image

Firstly I must thank @randomhouse @kwilsonwriter and @netgalley for allowing me to review this great #memoir.

In the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Peter Mayle, this enchantingly warm and witty memoir follows American-born Katherine Wilson on her adventures abroad, where a three-month rite of passage in Naples turns into a permanent embrace of this boisterous city on the Mediterranean. It is all thanks to a surprising romance, a new passion for food, and a spirited woman who will become her mother-in-law—and teach her to laugh, to seize joy, and to love.

I adore Memoirs so this book caught my eye. It has also been a dream of mine for many many years, to go to Italy too so this book had to be read.
It has made me want to visit this tremendous part of the world even more now. The humour, culture, food and people all sound wonderful.
This book is going to be a best seller, and I thank Katherine for taking the time to share her experiences with us all xx

The Reading Shed xxx

Between You and Me by Lisa Hall

image

Thank you so much to @UKCarina @Netgalley and @LisaHallAuthor

They say every marriage has its secrets.
But no one sees what happens behind closed doors.
And sometimes those doors should never be opened …

Sal and Charlie are married. They love each other. But they aren’t happy. Sal cannot leave, no matter what Charlie does – no matter how much it hurts.

Oh what a thriller this is !!! A debut book most certainly well written about an abusive relationship. I urge everyone to read this book and NOT any reviews as this is a book that really needs no spoilers. Go and buy it…Everyone Needs a Thriller on their bookshelves. Everyone needs #BetweenYouandMe

The Reading Shed xxx

The Shop Girls Of Chapel Street by Jenny Holmes

image

Thank You to @PenguinRHUKNews @netgalley @PenguinUKBooks for giving me the opportunity to review #TheShopGirlsOfChapelStreet.

Orphaned young, Violet Wheeler has been brought up by her aunt – but after Winnie’s death, she feels like she’s lost everything. With no-one to turn to, she has to rely on the goodwill of the community to help her out.

At the Jubilee drapers, amongst the spools of ribbon, skeins of silk and latest thirties fashions, Violet finds a refuge. She’s offered a chance to get back on her feet, and with that an unexpected chance to discover love. It’s only when a forgotten piece of jewellery with a mysterious note surfaces that Violet is thrown back in to the past again, and starts to wonder what secrets there might be in her family’s history.

As Violet becomes desperate to find answers about her mother and father, long-buried secrets threaten the stable life she’s been building. Can her new friends steer Violet towards a happy ending against all the odds?

This book was very enjoyable. Young Orphaned Violet is brought up by her aunt & uncle until her world is turned upside down. There are secrets, nostalgia and of course romance in this book which is a genre I normally never read but really enjoyed.

The Reading Shed xxx

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

image

THE NEW YORK TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER

‘Finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option…Unmissable’ New York Times

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live. 

When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a medical student asking what makes a virtuous and meaningful life into a neurosurgeon working in the core of human identity – the brain – and finally into a patient and a new father.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when when life is catastrophically interrupted? What does it mean to have a child as your own life fades away? 

Paul Kalanithi died while working on this profoundly moving book, yet his words live on as a guide to us all. When Breath Becomes Air is a life-affirming reflection on facing our mortality and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a gifted writer who became both

Thank you to the publisher and netgalley for allowing me to review this memoir
An absolutely wonderful powerful memoir of true courage. Nothing more really can be said

The Reading Shed xxx